About us

The Evangelical Church of Czech Brethren

The Church formed in the year 1918, through the unification of the Protestant churches of the Lutheran and Reformed confessions, which were permitted only after the harsh counter-reformation movement, which lasted from 1620 until the issuing of the Edict of Toleration in 1781. However, the ECCB has deeper roots in the Czech reformation: in the Utraquist Hussite Church (1431-1620) and in the Unity of Brethren (Moravian) Church (1457-1620). The ECCB has about 120,000 members in more than 250 local congregations, which are broken down into 14 seniorates (presbyteries) throughout the Czech Republic.